LIVRES NUMÉRIQUESJEUNESSEBÉBÉJEUX, JOUETSPAPETERIECADEAUXDIVERTISSEMENT


Message Important
Le site sera temporairement en maintenance, pour une mise à jour. Ceci afin de mieux vous servir.
Heure de maintenance prévue : 10:30 pm

Important message
The site will be busy updating the store for you and will be back shortly.
Scheduled maintenance : 10:30 pm
Fun City - SEAN DEVENEY

Fun City

SEAN DEVENEY

 
25,99 $

Livre en anglais
Feuilleter Feuilleter
Sur commande : 2 à 4 semaines
Quantité
Ajouter à ma liste de souhaits
Non disponible en succursale
EN SAVOIR PLUS Résumé

On January 1, 1966, New York came to a standstill as the city’s transit workers went on strike. This was the first day on the job for Mayor John Lindsay?a handsome, young former congressman with presidential aspirations?and he would approach the issue with an unconventional outlook that would be his hallmark. He ignored the cold and walked four miles, famously declaring, “I still think it is a fun city.”

As profound social, racial, and cultural change sank the city into repeated crises, critics lampooned Lindsay’s “fun city.” Yet for all the hard times the city endured during and after his tenure as mayor, there was indeed fun to be had. Against this backdrop, too, the sporting scene saw tremendous upheaval.

On one hand, the venerable Yankees?who had won 15 pennants in an 18-year span before 1965?and the NFL’s powerhouse Giants suddenly went into a level of decline neither had known for generations, as stars like Mickey Mantle and Whitey Ford on the diamond and Y.A. Tittle on the gridiron aged quickly. But on the other, the fall of the city’s sports behemoths was accompanied by the rise of anti-establishment outsiders?there were Joe Namath and the Jets, as well as the shocking triumph of the Amazin’ Mets, who won the 1969 World Series after spending the franchise’s first eight seasons in the cellar. Meanwhile, the city’s two overlooked franchises, the Knicks and Rangers, also had breakthroughs, bringing new life to Madison Square Garden.

The overlap of these two worlds in the 1960s?Lindsay’s politics and the reemerging sports landscape?serves as the backbone of Fun City. In the vein of Ladies and Gentlemen: The Bronx is Burning, the book tells the story of a remarkable and thrilling time in New York sports against the backdrop of a remarkable and often difficult time for the city, culturally and socially.

The late sixties was an era in which New York toughened up in a lot of ways; it also was an era in which a changing of the guard among New York pro teams led the way in making it a truly fun city.

Détails
Prix : 25,99 $
Catégorie :
Auteur :  SEAN DEVENEY
Titre : Fun City
Date de parution : janvier 2018
Éditeur : SPORTS PUBLISHING
Sujet : SPORTS D'EQUIPE-ETE
ISBN : 9781683580997 (16835809911)
Référence Renaud-Bray : 12599176
No de produit : 2297282

SUGGESTIONS
Suggestions
Serge Savard : Canadien jusqu'au bout CANTIN, PHILIPPE
29,95 $
Marcher au bon rythme : des programmes pour tous CLOUTIER, JEAN-YVES
JOLICOEUR, LYNE
22,95 $
Mudra, le yoga des doigts : des gestes simples et bienfaisants DUMAS, JULIETTE & AL
34,95 $
Fun City , DEVENEY, SEAN
© SPORTS PUBLISHING 2018
2001: A Space Odyssey 12,99 $ Quantité : 1

30 jours au Groenland 34,95 $ Quantité : 1
1236 article(s) au panier.
Sous-total: 30 033,07 $
Renaud-Bray vous offre
les frais de livraison *