LIVRES NUMÉRIQUESJEUNESSEBÉBÉJEUX, JOUETSPAPETERIECADEAUXDIVERTISSEMENT


Message Important
Le site sera temporairement en maintenance, pour une mise à jour. Ceci afin de mieux vous servir.
Heure de maintenance prévue : 10:30 pm

Important message
The site will be busy updating the store for you and will be back shortly.
Scheduled maintenance : 10:30 pm
Unorthodox : the scandalous rejection of my hasidic roots - DEBORAH FELDMAN

Unorthodox : the scandalous rejection of my hasidic roots

DEBORAH FELDMAN

 
27,00 $

Livre en anglais
Feuilleter Feuilleter
Épuisé : Non disponible
Ajouter à ma liste de souhaits
Non disponible en succursale
EN SAVOIR PLUS Résumé

In the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, Unorthodox is a captivating story about a young woman determined to live her own life at any cost.

The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting memoir, Deborah Feldman reveals what life is like trapped within a religious tradition that values silence and suffering over individual freedoms.

The child of a mentally disabled father and a mother who abandoned the community while her daughter was still a toddler, Deborah was raised by her strictly religious grandparents, Bubby and Zeidy. Along with a rotating cast of aunts and uncles, they enforced customs with a relentless emphasis on rules that governed everything from what Deborah could wear and to whom she could speak, to what she was allowed to read. As she grew from an inquisitive little girl to an independent-minded young woman, stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. She had no idea how to seize this dream that seemed to beckon to her from the skyscrapers of Manhattan, but she was determined to find a way. The tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until, at the age of seventeen, she found herself trapped in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she had met for only thirty minutes before they became engaged. As a result, she experienced debilitating anxiety that was exacerbated by the public shame of having failed to immediately consummate her marriage and thus serve her husband. But it wasn’t until she had a child at nineteen that Deborah realized more than just her own future was at stake, and that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path—for herself and her son—to happiness and freedom.

Détails
Prix : 27,00 $
Catégorie :
Auteur :  DEBORAH FELDMAN
Titre : Unorthodox : the scandalous rejection of my hasidic roots
Date de parution : avril 2012
Éditeur : SIMON & SCHUSTER
Sujet : DIVERS
ISBN : 9781439187005 (1439187002)
Référence Renaud-Bray : 085529784
No de produit : 1254482

SUGGESTIONS
Suggestions
Une terre promise OBAMA, BARACK
49,95 $
Devenir OBAMA, MICHELLE
17,95 $
Rêves de mon père(Les) OBAMA, BARACK
16,95 $
Unorthodox : the scandalous rejection of my hasidic roots , FELDMAN, DEBORAH
© SIMON & SCHUSTER 2012
2001: A Space Odyssey (Special Edition) 12,99 $ Quantité : 1

30 jours au Groenland 34,95 $ Quantité : 1
1387 article(s) au panier.
Sous-total: 33 509,41 $
Renaud-Bray vous offre
les frais de livraison *