LIVRES NUMÉRIQUESJEUNESSEBÉBÉJEUX, JOUETSPAPETERIECADEAUXDIVERTISSEMENT


Message Important
Le site sera temporairement en maintenance, pour une mise à jour. Ceci afin de mieux vous servir.
Heure de maintenance prévue : 10:30 pm

Important message
The site will be busy updating the store for you and will be back shortly.
Scheduled maintenance : 10:30 pm
The End of Average: How We Succeed in a World That Values Sameness - TODD ROSE

The End of Average: How We Succeed in a World That Values Sameness

TODD ROSE

 
19,99 $

Livre en anglais
Feuilleter Feuilleter
Sur commande : 2 à 4 semaines
Quantité
Ajouter à ma liste de souhaits
Non disponible en succursale
EN SAVOIR PLUS Résumé

In this ground-breaking book perfect for readers of The Power of Habit and Quiet, Harvard scientist Todd Rose shows how our one-size-fits-all world is actually one-size-fits-none.

Each of us knows we’re different. We’re a little taller or shorter than the average, our salary is a bit higher or lower than the average, and we wonder about who it is that is buying the average-priced home. All around us, we think, are the average people—with the average height, the average salary and the average house.

But the average doesn’t just influence how we see ourselves—our entire social system has been built around this average-size-fits-all model. Schools are designed for the average student. Healthcare is designed for the average patient. Employers try to fill average job descriptions with employees on an average career trajectory. Our government implements programs and initiatives to serve the average person. For more than a century, we’ve believed that the best way to run our institutions is by focusing on the average person. But when you actually drill down into the numbers, you find an amazing fact: no one is average—which means that our society built for everyone is actually serving no one.

In the 1950s, the American Air Force found itself with a massive problem—performance in expensive, custom-made planes was suffering terribly, with crashes peaking at seventeen in a single day. Since the state-of-the-art planes they were flying had been meticulously crafted to fit the average pilot, pilot error was assumed to be at fault. Until, that is, the Air Force investigated just how many of their pilots were actually average. The shocking answer: out of thousands of active-duty ?pilots, exactly zero were average. Not one. This discovery led to simple solutions (like adjustable seats) that dramatically reduced accidents, improved performance, and expanded the pool of potential pilots. It also led to a huge change in thinking: planes didn’t need to be designed for everyone—they needed to be designed so they could adapt to suit the individual flying them.

The End of Average shows how success lies in customizing to our individual needs in all aspects of our lives, from the way we mark tests to the medical treatment we receive. Using principles from The Science of the Individual, it shows how we can break down the average to create individualized success that benefits everyone in the long run. It’s time we stopped settling for average, and in The End of Average, Todd Rose will show you how.

Détails
Prix : 19,99 $
Catégorie :
Auteur :  TODD ROSE
Titre : The End of Average: How We Succeed in a World That Values Sameness
Date de parution : novembre 2017
Éditeur : HARPERONE
Sujet : PSYCHOLOGIE
ISBN : 9780062358370 (0062358375)
Référence Renaud-Bray : 12356344
No de produit : 2254394

SUGGESTIONS
Suggestions
Revivre CORNEAU, GUY
29,95 $
Mon cerveau a ENCORE besoin de lunettes : le TDAH chez l'adulte N. éd. VINCENT, ANNICK
22,95 $
Imparfaits, libres et heureux ANDRÉ, CHRISTOPHE
18,95 $
The End of Average: How We Succeed in a World That Values Sameness , ROSE, TODD
© HARPERONE 2017
12 règles pour une vie : un antidote au chaos 20,99 $

Livre numérique
à télécharger


21 leçons pour le XXIe siècle 34,95 $ Quantité : 3
247 article(s) au panier.
Sous-total: 6 036,50 $
Renaud-Bray vous offre
les frais de livraison *