LIVRES NUMÉRIQUESJEUNESSEBÉBÉJEUX, JOUETSPAPETERIECADEAUXDIVERTISSEMENT


Message Important
Le site sera temporairement en maintenance, pour une mise à jour. Ceci afin de mieux vous servir.
Heure de maintenance prévue : 10:30 pm

Important message
The site will be busy updating the store for you and will be back shortly.
Scheduled maintenance : 10:30 pm
Sour Heart: Stories - JENNY ZHANG

Sour Heart: Stories

JENNY ZHANG

 
35,00 $

Livre en anglais
Feuilleter Feuilleter
En stock : Expédié en 48 heures.
Quantité
Ajouter à ma liste de souhaits
EN SAVOIR PLUS Résumé

A sly debut collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City—for readers of Zadie Smith, Helen Oyeyemi, and Junot Díaz

A fresh new voice emerges with the arrival of Sour Heart, establishing Jenny Zhang as a frank and subversive interpreter of the immigrant experience in America. Her stories cut across generations and continents, moving from the fraught halls of a public school in Flushing, Queens, to the tumultuous streets of Shanghai, China, during the Cultural Revolution of the 1960s. In the absence of grown-ups, latchkey kids experiment on each other until one day the experiments turn violent; an overbearing mother abandons her artistic aspirations to come to America but relives her glory days through karaoke; and a shy loner struggles to master English so she can speak to God.

Narrated by the daughters of Chinese immigrants who fled imperiled lives as artists back home only to struggle to stay afloat—dumpster diving for food and scamming Atlantic City casino buses to make a buck—these seven stories showcase Zhang’s compassion, moral courage, and a perverse sense of humor reminiscent of Portnoy’s Complaint. A darkly funny and intimate rendering of girlhood, Sour Heart examines what it means to belong to a family, to find your home, leave it, reject it, and return again.

Détails
Prix : 35,00 $
Catégorie :
Auteur :  JENNY ZHANG
Titre : Sour Heart: Stories
Date de parution : août 2017
Éditeur : RANDOM HOUSE
Collection : HARDCOVER
Sujet : LITTERATURE AMERICAINE
ISBN : 9780399589386 (0399589384)
Référence Renaud-Bray : 12074672
No de produit : 2207171

SUGGESTIONS
Suggestions
Celle qui fuit et celle qui reste FERRANTE, ELENA
15,95 $
Amie prodigieuse(L') FERRANTE, ELENA
15,95 $
Disparition de Stephanie Mailer(La) DICKER, JOËL
32,95 $
Sour Heart: Stories , ZHANG, JENNY
© RANDOM HOUSE 2017