LIVRES NUMÉRIQUESJEUNESSEBÉBÉJEUX, JOUETSPAPETERIECADEAUXDIVERTISSEMENT


Message Important
Le site sera temporairement en maintenance, pour une mise à jour. Ceci afin de mieux vous servir.
Heure de maintenance prévue : 10:30 pm

Important message
The site will be busy updating the store for you and will be back shortly.
Scheduled maintenance : 10:30 pm
By Gaslight - STEVEN PRICE

By Gaslight

STEVEN PRICE

 
36,00 $

Livre en anglais
Feuilleter Feuilleter
Sur commande : 2 à 4 semaines
Quantité
Ajouter à ma liste de souhaits
Non disponible en succursale
EN SAVOIR PLUS Résumé

"A dark tale of love, betrayal and murder that reaches from the slums of Victorian London to the diamond mines in South Africa, to the American Civil War and back. Superb storytelling." --Kurt Palka, author of The Piano Maker

A magnificent literary historical-suspense novel in the tradition of Eleanor Catton's The Luminaries, Patrick DeWitt's The Sisters Brothers, and Michael Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White, By Gaslight is destined to be one of the most acclaimed and talked-about books of the year.

London, 1885. In a city of fog and darkness, the notorious thief Edward Shade exists only as a ghost, a fabled con, a thief of other men's futures -- a man of smoke. William Pinkerton is already famous, the son of a brutal detective, when he descends into the underworld of Victorian London in pursuit of a new lead. His father died without ever tracing Shade; William, still reeling from his loss, is determined to drag the thief out of the shadows. Adam Foole is a gentleman without a past, haunted by a love affair ten years gone. When he receives a letter from his lost beloved, he returns to London in search of her; what he learns of her fate, and its connection to the man known as Shade, will force him to confront a grief he thought long-buried. What follows is a fog-enshrouded hunt through sewers, opium dens, drawing rooms, and seance halls. Above all, it is the story of the most unlikely of bonds: between William Pinkerton, the greatest detective of his age, and Adam Foole, the one man who may hold the key to finding Edward Shade.
Epic in scope, brilliantly conceived, and stunningly written, Steven Price's By Gaslight is a riveting, atmospheric portrait of two men on the brink. Moving from the diamond mines of South Africa to the battlefields of the Civil War, the novel is a journey into a cityscape of grief, trust,

Détails
Prix : 36,00 $
Catégorie :
Auteur :  STEVEN PRICE
Titre : By Gaslight
Date de parution : octobre 2016
Éditeur : MCCLELLAND & STEWART
Sujet : ROMAN CANADIEN-ANGLAIS
ISBN : 9780771069239 (0771069235)
Référence Renaud-Bray : 11441824
No de produit : 2091071

SUGGESTIONS
Suggestions
Servante écarlate(La) 3e éd. ATWOOD, MARGARET
16,95 $
Sous l'arbre à palabres, mon grand-père disait... 2.0 DIOUF, BOUCAR
22,95 $
Plongeur(Le) LARUE, STÉPHANE
17,95 $
By Gaslight , PRICE,STEVEN
© MCCLELLAND & STEWART 2016
Sac petit Papa super héros 4,99 $ Quantité : 1

Di Stasio : comme en Italie #01 9,99 $ Quantité : 1
14 article(s) au panier.
Sous-total: 113,86 $
Renaud-Bray vous offre
les frais de livraison *