LIVRES NUMÉRIQUESJEUNESSEBÉBÉJEUX, JOUETSPAPETERIECADEAUXDIVERTISSEMENT


Message Important
Le site sera temporairement en maintenance, pour une mise à jour. Ceci afin de mieux vous servir.
Heure de maintenance prévue : 10:30 pm

Important message
The site will be busy updating the store for you and will be back shortly.
Scheduled maintenance : 10:30 pm
By chance alone: A remarkable true story of courage and survival at Auschwitz - MAX EISEN

By chance alone: A remarkable true story of courage and survival at Auschwitz

MAX EISEN

 
22,99 $

Livre en anglais
Feuilleter Feuilleter
Sur commande : 2 à 4 semaines
Quantité
Ajouter à ma liste de souhaits
Non disponible en succursale
EN SAVOIR PLUS Résumé

In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz comes a new memoir by Canadian survivor

More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau, back-breaking slave labour in Auschwitz I, the infamous “death march” in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation, a journey of physical and psychological healing.

Tibor “Max” Eisen was born in Moldava, Czechoslovakia into an Orthodox Jewish family. He had an extended family of sixty members, and he lived in a family compound with his parents, his two younger brothers, his baby sister, his paternal grandparents and his uncle and aunt. In the spring of1944--five and a half years after his region had been annexed to Hungary and the morning after the family’s yearly Passover Seder--gendarmes forcibly removed Eisen and his family from their home. They were brought to a brickyard and eventually loaded onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At fifteen years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and he was inducted into the camp as a slave labourer.

One day, Eisen received a terrible blow from an SS guard. Severely injured, he was dumped at the hospital where a Polish political prisoner and physician, Tadeusz Orzeszko, operated on him. Despite his significant injury, Orzeszko saved Eisen from certain death in the gas chambers by giving him a job as a cleaner in the operating room. After his liberation and new trials in Communist Czechoslovakia, Eisen immigrated to Canada in 1949, where he has dedicated the last twenty-two years of his life to educating others about the Holocaust across Canada and around the world.

The author will be donating a portion of his royalties from this book to institutions promoting tolerance and understanding.

Détails
Prix : 22,99 $
Catégorie :
Auteur :  MAX EISEN
Titre : By chance alone: A remarkable true story of courage and survival at Auschwitz
Date de parution : avril 2016
Éditeur : HARPER COLLINS
Collection : PAPERBACK
Pages : 272
Sujet : DIVERS
ISBN : 9781443448536 (1443448532)
Référence Renaud-Bray : 085500491
No de produit : 1824163

SUGGESTIONS
Suggestions
Pablo Escobar, mon père ESCOBAR, JUAN PABLO
29,95 $
Dîner avec Edward VINCENT, ISABEL
28,95 $
Moi, Malala je lutte pour l'éducation et je résiste aux talibans YOUSAFZAI, MALALA
13,95 $
By chance alone: A remarkable true story of courage and survival at Auschwitz , EISEN, MAX
© HARPER COLLINS 2016